Canola Council reports on 2022 and honours three individuals for outstanding industry contributions

March 9, 2023 – At the Canola Council of Canada’s (CCC) Annual General Meeting earlier today, president Jim Everson presented the 2022 annual report: Moving Forward – From Adversity to Opportunity. Everson reflected on the year’s progress as well as new possibilities on the horizon.

“Canada’s canola value chain is optimistic about the future,” said Everson. “Canola continues to deliver value for growers, for the Canadian economy and for a food security-conscious global marketplace. There are numerous reasons to have confidence in the Canadian canola sector’s resilience and ability to set itself apart as a supplier of healthy oil, high quality protein and feedstock for clean, renewable fuels.”

The report highlights progress towards new opportunities in all pillars of the CCC’s strategic plan, including rebounding yields after the devastating drought in 2021, overcoming export issues with China, pursuing market diversification in the Asia-Pacific region, new pathways opening to biofuel markets, significant investment moving forward in new value-added processing capacity and a renewed commitment to innovation.

For more information, read the full 2022 Annual Report.

The AGM also included Chair Jennifer Marchand welcoming three new members to the CCC board of directors for 2022/23:

  • Dean Roberts, nominated by the Canadian Canola Growers Association
  • Ed Schafer, nominated by SaskCanola
  • Kevin Wright, Archer Daniels Midland Company, nominated by the Canadian Oilseed Processors Association

“On behalf of the board, I’d like to thank our outgoing board members Charlene Bradley, Michael Irons and Bernie McClean, for their contributions to our industry,” says Marchand. “We also warmly welcome three new directors as we continue to partner across the entire value chain to address challenges and build on the opportunities ahead.”

The CCC’s AGM was held as part of the Canadian Crops Convention in Ottawa. The event also included honouring three award recipients that were announced as part of the CCC’s virtual AGM in 2022:

Dr. Wilf Keller: Recipient of the James McAnsh Award in recognition of his significant contributions to the canola industry – from genetic techniques for the improvement of canola, to fostering public/private partnerships both nationally and internationally, to providing industry vision and leadership for innovation which has contributed significantly to the success of the crop and its value to the Canadian economy. Beginning in the early 1980’s Dr. Keller’s pioneering and creative scientific work and leadership formed a foundation for modern biotechnology in canola. Dr. Keller’s stellar scientific career resulted in his advancement to direct Genome Prairie and Ag-West Biotech. His leadership and scientific acumen towards improving canola technology has benefited farmers directly and also the entire value chain.

The James McAnsh Award is named in memory of a man of undaunted enthusiasm, leadership and foresight, who played a key role in the creation of the canola industry. More than 50 years ago, McAnsh led the establishment of the Rapeseed Association of Canada, which in time became the Canola Council of Canada.

David Dzisiak: Recipient of an Honourary Life Membership Award, in recognition of his exceptional contributions to canola, including spearheading the launch of a canola innovation delivering new value to Canadian agriculture and the Canadian farmer for generations to come. In his role at Dow AgroSciences, David identified and championed the new canola opportunity for high oleic, low linolenic canola oil and helped shape the canola industry to move to a more balanced approach of commodity and primary ingredient in value creation.

Murray Hartman: Recipient of an Honourary Life Membership Award, in recognition of his tremendous contributions to the improvement of canola production practices through his education and extensive outreach efforts to growers, agronomists and researchers in Alberta in particular, but also Western Canada as a whole. Through his long-standing role as Alberta Oilseed Specialist, Murray shaped the industry’s understanding of canola production, always leading with science and research. 

To provide a strong voice for all segments of the industry, CCC directors are nominated by organizations representing growers, processors and exporters, as well as life science companies.

Nominated by canola grower associations:

  • Charles Fossay, Manitoba Canola Growers
  • Justin Nanninga, Alberta Canola
  • Dean Roberts, Canadian Canola Growers Association
  • Ed Schafer, SaskCanola

Nominated by the Canadian Oilseed Processors Association:

  • Ryan Law, Bunge
  • Tracy Lussier, Louis Dreyfus Company
  • Jeff Pleskach, Cargill Ltd.
  • Kevin Wright, Archer Daniels Midland Company 

Nominated by the Western Grain Elevator Association:

  • Jarrett Beatty, Parrish & Heimbecker
  • Jennifer Marchand, Cargill Ltd.
  • Tessa Ritter, Viterra
  • Trevor Veenendaal, G3 Canada Ltd. 

Nominated by life science companies:

  • Garth Hodges, BASF
  • David Kelner, Bayer Crop Science
  • Ryan McCann, Nutrien Ag. Solutions Canada Inc.

The Canola Council of Canada is a full value chain organization representing canola growers, processors, life science companies and exporters. Keep it Coming 2025 is the strategic plan to ensure the canola industry’s continued growth, demand, stability and success – targeting 52 bushels per acre to meet global market demand of 26 million metric tonnes by the year 2025. For more information, visit or follow CCC on Twitter @canolacouncil.


Media may contact:

Heidi Dancho
Director, Communications

Privacy & Cookies: This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this website, you agree to their use. To find out more, including how to control cookies, see here: Privacy policy
Privacy & Cookies: This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this website, you agree to their use. To find out more, including how to control cookies, see here: Privacy policy